Chapter 7 – This is a Brothel You Know

After she had left, I reacted. The more I thought of it, the weirder it seemed to be.

Who on earth is this? She just says she wants to take me away, means that I have to go with her?

Does she think that the world belongs to her? Is there any law in this country?

I am not going to sit here and wait for my death. I will follow them and find out who they are! readonyuritranslations

I immediately rushed down the stairs, and asked the waiter,

“Did you see where those two gentlemen headed off too?”

“It seemed that they headed in the North direction, I think….”

I did not listen to all his rumblings and rushed out like the wind.

Luckily, they are slow. As I rushed up and searched high and low for them, I finally saw them.

Right now, it is very late. Where are they going? What are these two weak women doing in a dark alleyway like this? Are they not afraid of trouble?

“This woman has guts. Does she think that as long as she pretends to be a man, she will be alright?”

I was following them and thinking to myself. Then my crow beak hit the nail on the head. Bad things happened immediately.

[T/N: Crow beak – saying bad things.]

From the shadows, a few ruffians surrounded them.

These men looked very rough. One look and you could tell that they are not good men.

I immediately hid in a corner and observed the situation. I am just a mere chef and do not know kung fu. I could not possibly defeat these bulky and muscular men. I need to use my brains.

“Who are you? What do you want to do?”

She looked enraged and displeased.

A fat man immediately spoke out first,

“We do not have any ill intentions, but recently, we are a bit short on money, and want to borrow some money from these two brothers. Aiya, I did not notice it earlier, these two lads are very charming and handsome, I even wanted to…”

Then he smiled and walked forwards, and wanted to touch Mu Zhen’s face.

But Mu Zhen was quick to react, and immediately dodged. Then she replied coldly,

“How dare you! You lowlives! Do you know who I am? If you dare to lay a finger on me, your lives will be gone!”

As soon as they heard these, they immediately broke out in laughter. They thought she was helpless and said these just to frighten them off.

The fatty sneered,

“Oh, I don’t know who you are! But seeing how soft your skins are if I sell you to the brothel, I can get a good price! Hahaha!”

Then he slowly approached them. At the same time, he took out something from his shirt.

Suddenly, he tossed the thing at them, and he and the rest of the crooks immediately covered their mouth and nose.

These two women breathed in the powder and collapsed on the ground, unconscious.

Then two men immediately carried them on their shoulders as the gang headed off.

I was hiding in a corner and saw everything. From the way they acted, it seems that they are highly experienced and have done it several times before.

I was anxious but helpless. There is no one around to help me.

Therefore, I could only follow them, and see where they brought these two women to.

I tailed them to the back door of a brothel.

The fatty immediately knocked on the door and delivered them to the brothel.

This must be the brothel that that fatty talked about.

No, I must enter this place, and see how I could get them out of there.

I entered the main door. It is big and imposing, and there are some words on the signboard: Scholars Succeed Brothel. There were also women with thick make-up that were trying to pull customers in.

I was very nervous. This is the first time for me to visit a place like this.

I coughed, gathered up my courage, and walked in.

The Madam in charge of the brothel noticed me and saw that I was dressed smartly. She enthusiastically came over and waved her handkerchief as she tried to get friendly with me.

“Oh, what a handsome young man! What type of ladies are you looking for? We have all kinds of entertainment here. I can guarantee you that we cater to all fetishes. Come take a look at these two ladies!”

The old Madam’s face was filled with a slab of makeup as thick as a brick. And her perfume stinks to the high heavens. I gagged and could barely breathe.

But since I have not found them yet, I could only pretend to be a lewd man in search of carnal pleasure.

“You said that you have anything I want? I do not like these women who have so thick make-ups. Do you have something different? [2]”

When I said this, I did not have any confidence. But I know that since fatty said that he could sell them into this brothel, it means there is something fishy going on here.

Saying this, I took out some silver taels for her. As soon as she saw the money, she immediately became a lot more cooperative and dismissed the two women. Then she pulled me to one side and said,

“You want something different? Then come this way. You have a sharp eye for details. I have some new products, this chance does not come every day, come this way~

I followed her while observing the surroundings and keeping my eyes open as I looked everywhere for them.

She took me to the back courtyard. But this place is different from the outside. All these people are males – be it the male prostitutes or male customers.

There are a few men who winked at me and tried to use their eyes to seduce me. I felt very disgusted and was sweating behind my back.

“What type of man do you want? Take your pick.”

She took me to a room, and I immediately noticed Mu Zhen. Her maid was nowhere to be found. They were separated. readonyuritranslations

There were also several 15-16 young boys there.

Looking at them, they are all unconscious. They must be knocked out by the mixture and sold here.

I immediately pointed at her and told the Madam.

“This one!”

She saw that I had chosen a man, and immediately smiled,

“Sir, you have good eyes. One look and you picked the best of the lot. But since it is the best, we need to discuss the price.”

“Relax, I will not short change you. First, find me a room. I will carry him over myself!”

Then I tossed her some silver taels.

“Oh, you are so thirsty! I will immediately make preparations.”

Then she happily kept the silver and made arrangements.

I squatted down and picked her up.

When I saw her lying on my chest, like a baby, I suddenly had a weird feeling.

This lady is haughty and cocky. She is cold and fierce when not smiling. So fierce that nobody dares to approach.

But when she smiles, she is charming. Like wine – her beauty will intoxicate you.

She appeared to be mighty, but so simple and easily tricked. Her exterior façade and her heart are not the same.

Who exactly are you?

I carried her into the room and asked the Madam for some water.

The Madam was a bit suspicious, but she did not care much as long as I paid her generously. She simply thought that I was weird. readonyuritranslations

I washed her face and placed her dirty clothes on one side. Then I wondered how I should sleep.

Right now, it is very late. I do not have much money left. If I want to save her, the best thing to do is to save her in the morning.

“There is only one bed. We both are women. There is nothing wrong with sleeping together, right?” I asked her.

“Cough, Cough, Cough, if you do not reply, then I take it as you have agreed~”

Then I laid beside her and thought about how to resolve the problem tomorrow.

I just looked at her as she slept so peacefully, and listened to the sound of her breathing.

Who are you? Why do you always get into trouble each time I meet you?

I was thinking that but I was very exhausted. After all, I have cooked for the whole day. I did not think for long, and also fell asleep after a while. readonyuritranslations

The next morning, I was awakened by a piercing shriek.

I woke up while I was flying in the air, and landed on the stone-hard floor with a thud.

“Aiya~ So painful! What are you doing! It is a case of good deeds do not pay off! This is the 2nd time I saved you, but you treat me like this. I am so wronged. Good people end up miserable. Wa… *crying*~”

“I, I, I, how would I know it was you. I thought it was…..and why are you sleeping beside me?”

She suddenly looked very worried, and her face turned red. She stuttered when she spoke.

“My goddess, there is only one bed! If I don’t sleep here, where should I sleep? Why didn’t you use your brains and think for a moment? We are both women. What can I do to you? How long are you going to let me sit here on the floor? Ouch, my poor back!”

Then she helped me up.

I massaged my back and sat on the side of the bed. Then I looked at her.

“Thank you. Where are we?”

“You don’t know where this is? Lady, this is a brothel! Yesterday that group of thugs sold you to this brothel. If not for me, you would’ve been…..”

“Brothel? What type of place is this?”

“Lady, you do not even know what a brothel is, and you dare to go out in the streets at night?”

Looking at her clueless face, I could not help laughing at her. I may not have entered this place before, but at least I have some ‘common sense’.

Then I explained to her what a brothel is.

As soon as she heard my words, she was infuriated and embarrassed. She wore her shoes and clothes and wanted to leave. I immediately held her back.

“Where are you going? Without any money to redeem you, you cannot escape. Let’s think of a way out. Why don’t you stay here for a moment? I will go back and bring some money to redeem you?”

She did not listen to me and just sneered.

 “Ah, I do not believe that they would dare to stop me. How dare they bring me to this place. They do not want to live anymore!”

Then she stomped out of the room in fury. I quickly followed after her and was worried about her safety.

As soon as the Madam saw that she was trying to leave, she immediately brought a group of thugs to stop her.

But she did not even flinch and took out a piece of jade. The Madam was frightened out of her wits and immediately kneeled.

“If you do not want to die, get out of my way!”

As soon as she said this, the Madam immediately asked everyone to make way.

“Oh yes, there is a companion of mine. Bring him out.”

The Madam immediately instructed someone to carry out the man who was kidnapped here with her.

She is well versed in the ways of the rich and powerful and immediately recognized that piece of jade. She knows that she had offended someone she could not afford to offend, and to save her life, she disappeared without a trace.

Just like that, we walked out of the brothel.

I was curious. How come this jade is so powerful?

That Madam was frightened out of her wits?

En, this man is not simple.

After leaving the brothel, she turned around and told me,

“Thank you for saving me again. You better go back now. Also, do not tell anyone what happened. As for these people, I will teach them a lesson. Tonight, someone will come to get you. You go and prepare.”

Then they disappeared before I could get a word in.

 …………

Damn it. How did this lady flip her position faster than she flips through a book??

And you just left like this? Why do you like to be so mysterious! This is the third time! The damn third time! Why do you never ask others for their opinion?

Although my mouth was saying the above, my heart felt different. “Aiya~ forget it. I could not do a thing! Once I get used to it, it should be fine. You are the daughter of someone powerful, and you look good, so I will not hold it against you.”

I decided to find my Shifu. I need to consult him.

I rode a carriage to my Shifu’s adobe. As soon as I entered, I noticed that Xu Mo and Ting’er were also there.

I immediately informed him that the lady wanted to take me away, and did not mention what happened last night.

When they heard me, the three of them had three different expressions.

Shifu looked worried, Xu Mo looked happy, and Ting’er looked reluctant.

But all of them were surprised.

“Do you know who Mu Zhen is?” I asked.

“Everyone under the sky knows her? She is the second princess, and the favorite daughter of the Emperor!” Xu Mo looked at me as if I am an idiot.

Princ…Princ… Princess? Mu Zhen? No wonder I thought that this name is very familiar. Sigh, I have offended someone I could not afford to offend. No wonder that Madam in the brothel turned pale. I was thinking that this world had no laws. But she is the law.

I was shocked.

“Xiran, I do not know why the princess asked you to go with her. But you must know this. Inside the palace is not like the outside. If you must go, then you must be very careful in everything you do. I know you have been wanting to ask about your father. Once you come back, I will tell you everything.” Shifu instructed.

I carefully paid attention to my Shifu’s advice and remembered them. Then I chatted with them for a short while and prepared to go back.

As I reached the door, Ting’er chased after me, and said,

“Brother Xiran, you must be careful. If there are any problems, you can always run here!”

I saw that she had been crying, and her eyes were red.

“Relax, Ting Er, your brother Xiran will be alright! It is not as if we cannot meet again. I will frequently come back to visit you and Shifu. Do not cry~”

I rubbed her head and smiled at her.

Frankly speaking, during this time, I have noticed her attitude. She does not regard me as just a ‘brother’. But I have never regarded her as anything but a sister. She is still young, and I believe that she will meet someone else that is more suitable than me sooner or later.

At about noon, I returned to Ju Xiang Ge. The one who was there to receive me had already waited there for some time. When I left, I did not bring anything with me, except a heart filled with fear of the unknown.

Will I be entering the palace? What does the princess want from me?

Would this be a fortune or misfortune?


This is a fan translation presented by Yuri Translations. This novel does not belong to us.
Support the author by donating to the site linked on the synopsis page.

You can also donate to the site: https://ko-fi.com/yurifixation


[ Previous Chapter — Next Chapter ]

Leave a comment